Review: Guayaki Yerba Mate flavored drinks

I’m an everyday coffee drinker and definitely will get the headache warning signals, after about 3 hours of going without. But it’s easy to get burnt out on anything; be it food, drink, or social networking site. I go to Starbucks most everyday, because no matter how hard I try, I can never make my own coffee and enjoy the taste of it. Even if I’m using coffee grounds that are much tastier than Starbucks, my ratio of grounds to water always seems to be off, or it’s all just psychological and the idea of someone else making it for you just affects my brain’s pleasure zone? Who knows.

Enter Yerba Mate as a tea. Yerba Mate is a herb that is native to South America and contains a wide range of vitamins and minerals. (Vitamin B/C, manganese, potassium, zinc, and minerals include quercetin, theobromine, and theophylline.)

The 16 ounce cans I buy from Stop and Shop are 1.99 and pack a pretty solid caffeinated punch. (150 mg) There’s “Lemon Elation” and “Revel Berry” that I’ve tried so far. You definitely get the attentiveness and general alertness you get from coffee, but minus the jitters. Ingredients include: organic brewed guayaki roasted yerba mate, organic elder flowers, organic cane sugar, organic ginger juice, organic lemon juice concentrate, and cirtric acid. Image

Leave a Reply

